Let’s Begin Again

I can’t believe it’s been over a year since my last post. I only wrote about 100 pages of Book #5 before giving up. And then I ran out of ideas. I haven’t written anything for six months or so.

But I can tell that I’m getting close to starting Book #6, because I’ve started thinking of a writing soundtrack. So far, this is what I’ve come up with…

  • Liz Phair – “Batmobile”
  • Bear Hands – “Purpose Filled Life”
  • Holy Ghost! – “Dumb Disco Ideas”
  • Young Fathers – “Hangman”
  • Caribou – “Found Out”
  • They Might Be Giants – “Birdhouse in Your Soul”
  • Sapient – “I Was Wrong”
  • God Lives Underwater – “From Your Mouth”
  • Sun 60 – “Grass is Greener”
  • The Replacements – “We’ll Inherit the Earth”
  • The Drums – “Book of Revelation”

For the first time, I’m trying my hand at a little magical realism. The two main characters are a self-isolating girl seeking attention and a loudmouth conspiracy theorist who wants anyone to believe him. The two meet in group therapy and set off through their small town to discover where all the animals went and why everything seems to be buzzing. Should be a fun distraction…

Leave a Reply

